English & Speech

CONTACT
Program Chair:
Evan Oakley
Westview 203
(970) 339-6507
evan.oakley@aims.edu

Faculty

English Faculty:

Megan Friesen
English Instructor
(970) 339-6351
megan.friesen@aims.edu

Megan Friesen has been teaching English and literature at Aims full-time since 2012. She earned a B.A. in English from Hastings College in Hastings, NE and an M.A. in English from the University of Wyoming. Megan teaches Composition, Intro to Literature and Children's Literature.

Kendra Griffin
English Instructor
(970)339-6343
kendra.griffin@aims.edu

Kendra Griffin has been teaching at Aims since 2008. She earned her B.A. in English from the State University of New York at Oswego and her M.A. in English from the College of Staten Island. Kendra teaches Basic Composition, Composition I and II, Introduction to Literature, and Childrenís Literature.

Holly Hartwick
English Instructor
(970) 339-6426
holly.hartwick@aims.edu

Holly Hartwick started teaching at Aims part-time in 1989, then went full-time in 1995. She earned a B.A. in English from Colorado State University, M.Ed in Curriculum and Instruction from The Wichita State University and M.A. in English from the University of Northern Colorado.

Holly teaches multiple levels of Composition, COM 125 and other courses in Developmental Ed, Humanities, AAA and EDU.

Mike Jensen
English Instructor
(970) 339-6366
mike.jensen@aims.edu

Mike Jensen has been teaching English at the college level since 1995 and at Aims Community College since 2008. He earned his M.A. in English / Professional Writing from the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He has published two books, more than two dozen magazine articles, and has written four weekly newspaper columns. He teaches Developmental Writing, Composition I and II, and Literature.

Evan Oakley
Program Chair, English & Humanities
(970) 339-6507
evan.oakley@aims.edu

Evan Oakley has taught full-time at Aims for 18 years.

He teaches Composition and Humanities courses.

He is a recipient of the 2004 Faculty of the Year Award, the 2010-2011 Deanís Award, a Colorado Council of the Arts Award for Poetry, and he has published in various journals and magazines.

Michael Ort
English/Humanities Instructor
(970) 339-6240
michael.ort@aims.edu

Michael has been at Aims for 17 years. He teaches courses in English, Humanities and Philosophy.

Rebecca Sailor
English Instructor
(970) 339-6505
rebecca.sailor@aims.edu

Rebecca Sailor has been teaching English and humanities at Aims full-time since 2007. She earned an A.A. from Joliet Jr. College, B.A. in English/Writing from the University of St. Francis in Joliet, and a M.A. in English from the University of Northern Colorado. Rebecca teaches Humanities I and II, World Mythology, Technical Writing and Composition.