Admissions & Records
Important Dates & Events
HOURSSep 7 - Nov 22, 2014
|Mon:||8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.|
|Tue:||8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.|
|Wed:||8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.|
|Thu:||8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.|
|Fri:||8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.|
College Center, 1st Floor
5401 W 20th Street
Greeley, CO 80634
Phone: (970) 339-6440
Fax: (970) 506-6958
Frequently Asked Questions for: Admissions & Records - Tuition Classification
- Where do the rules come from that govern Colorado tuition classification requirements?
- How long must I live in Colorado before I can be considered “in-state” for tuition purposes?
- What is domicile?
- How old must I be to establish my domicile in Colorado?
- What is emancipation?
- Can I receive any gifts or money from my parents if I am claiming to be emancipated?
- Who can be considered a legal guardian?
- If I marry a Colorado resident or live with a relative who is a Colorado resident, am I considered an “in-state” student?
- What is physical presence?
- What is intent?
- Are there special circumstances for military personnel?
- What if my parents are divorced and only one is living in Colorado?
- What if one of my parents lives in Colorado? Does that give me automatic in-state tuition or help the process?
- Can I establish “in-state” status while a student?
- May I leave the state for vacations or summer work while establishing my “in-state” status?
- Is there any consideration given for a minor whose parents have lived in Colorado for a number of years and established “in-state” status, but who moved out of state during the minor’s senior year in high school?
- Are non-U.S. citizens capable of establishing “in-state” classification?
- Who do I talk to if I disagree with the decision made on my classification?
Where do the rules come from that govern Colorado tuition classification requirements?The requirements for establishing tuition classification are defined by a statute of the State of Colorado Title 23, Article 7 101 to 107 C.R.S. 1973 as amended, Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) regulations, and CCHE/ State Attorney General Guidelines.
How long must I live in Colorado before I can be considered “in-state” for tuition purposes?By law, an “in-state” student, or the student’s parents, must be domiciled in Colorado for 12 or more continuous months by the first day of classes.
What is domicile?“Domicile” is the legal term used to describe the place where a person has chosen to make a fixed and permanent home. Domicile includes physical presence and demonstrated intent to make Colorado your home, and must be established for 12 months prior to the first day of classes.
How old must I be to establish my domicile in Colorado?According to tuition law, there are three possible situations:
- Individuals at least 22 years of age are eligible to establish domicile in Colorado. Physical presence and intent must be established for 12 months prior to the first day of classes. Thus, an individual will meet the requirements of the law no sooner than his/her 23rd birthday.
- Individuals under 23 years of age whose parents or legal guardians have established domicile for 12 months prior to the first day of classes could be considered “in-state” for tuition purposes.
- Students emancipated prior to the age of 22 are eligible to establish domicile.
What is emancipation?Emancipation is the parental surrender of claim to the right to care and custody of a minor. According to the tuition law, emancipation occurs at the age of 22 years, or upon marriage, or if:
- The parents or legal guardians submit an affidavit surrendering any claim or right to the care, custody, and earnings of the minor, as well as the duty to support the minor, together with the student's proof that the student can independently meet all living expenses, including the cost of education; and
- Failure of parents or legal guardians to provide financial support together with the student's proof that the student can independently meet all living expenses, including the cost of education.
Can I receive any gifts or money from my parents if I am claiming to be emancipated?Gifts from parents that students depend on for financial support are considered evidence of non-emancipation according to the statute. Therefore, loans from family, use of family cars, jointly owned property and/or living with family members may prohibit the student from being considered emancipated.
Who can be considered a legal guardian?A legal guardian is defined as someone appointed by the court with personal and financial responsibility for a minor. The tuition law also requires the court document reflecting the guardian appointment to state that the appointment is not for tuition classification purposes and to certify that parents do not contribute to the minor’s support.
If I marry a Colorado resident or live with a relative who is a Colorado resident, am I considered an “in-state” student?No. Each individual must establish his/her own domicile as prescribed by the tuition law.
What is physical presence?Physical presence refers to the place where a person establishes domicile. A person can have only one legal domicile, which can be considered as physical presence for tuition classification purposes. An individual can establish proof of physical presence by providing rent receipts, lease agreements, home ownership papers, or statements from landlords.
What is intent?The tuition law lists several factors that can be used to determine that intent has been established. No one factor by itself is sufficient to measure intent. Each college must make that determination based on the information provided by the individual. It is the responsibility of the individual to provide as much information and documentation as appropriate to document intent. Several factors which will be considered are:
- Payment of Colorado state income tax as a Colorado resident
- Permanent, full-time, off-campus employment
- Withholding of Colorado state taxes from wages
- Obtaining a Colorado Motor Vehicle Operator’s License or a valid Colorado ID for identification purposes in a timely manner upon moving to Colorado or becoming eligible for one
- Obtaining Colorado license plates in a timely manner upon owning a motor vehicle
- Registering to vote in Colorado
- Ownership of residential property in Colorado
- Any factors which are specific to the individual which demonstrate established intent to make Colorado one’s permanent home