Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees: Members


 Carol Ruckel
Term: 2011-2015; 2015-2019

Carol Ruckel represents Aims District A, including LaSalle, Gilcrest and Platteville; Keenesburg, Hudson and Prospect Valley; and Fort Lupton. Ruckel has extensive experience in education. She recently retired from Weld School District Re-8, where she directed a five-year, $3.6 million federal grant program to design and implement performance pay for instructional staff. Prior to that, she worked for Denver Public Schools from 1997 to 2003 as director of licensing programs and director of human resources. Ruckel currently is an instructor for McGrath Training Systems, where she teaches education and business leaders communication and organizational performance skills. She earned her master’s in organizational management from The University of Phoenix and her bachelor’s degree in international relations and organization from The American University. Ruckel is vice-president of the Forlurado Club, a women’s service club supporting education and the arts and local humanitarian needs. She is a founding member and former board member of the Pikes Peak Leadership Academy. She also served on Governor Romer’s Education Advisory Council from 1989 to 1992 and the Colorado PTA from 1978 to 1991, including serving as state president in 1988-1989.

 Gene O'HaraGene O'Hara
Term: 2017-2021

Gene O'Hara represents District D, serving parts of Greeley and Evans. He earned his Doctorate of Pharmacy from the University of the Pacific, his master's in health administration from the University of Colorado and his bachelor's of pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Montana.  His professional career spans nearly 40 years in the medical administration field.  Dr. O'Hara served as an adjunct faculty member at the University of Northern Colorado, College of Business.  He is currently the Chief Executive Officer at the Colorado Plains Medical Center in Fort Morgan, Colorado.  Dr. O'Hara is passionate about the value of education Aims Community College offers and is honored to be able to contribute to the future of Aims. 

 Ray Peterson
Board Chair
Term: 2013-2017; 2017-2021

Ray Peterson was seated as the new director for District C, representing Eaton, Windsor, Ault-Highland, Briggsdale, New Raymer and Grover school districts at the November 2013 meeting. Peterson operates Peterson Ranches of Nunn on the property where he was raised. He earned his bachelor’s in Animal Science and his master’s in Adult Education from Colorado State University before earning a doctorate in Educational Administration from Arizona State University. His professional experience includes serving as state senator from 1982 to 1994, more than a decade in CSU’s Extension Service and nearly 30 years in the Colorado Department of Education.  He currently serves on several boards, including President of the Weld County Farmers Union, member of the Weld County Livestock Association, the Greeley/Weld League of Women Voters, and the High Plains District Board of Trustees. 

He has also served the following organizations: Colorado Endowment for the Humanities, Board Member; Colorado Mental Health Institute; Fort Logan Advisory Council; Literacy Coalition of Jefferson County, Treasurer; National Community Education Association, Board Member; Partners of the Americas, Board Member; Colorado Association of Community Educators, President; Colorado Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development, Board Member; Colorado Adult Education Professional Association, President; Colorado Mined Land Reclamation, Board Member; Mountain Plains Adult Education Association, President; Colorado Business and Education Council, Board Member; Academy of Intergenerational Scholars, Board Member.

 Mark Hout

Term: 2015-2019

Mark Hout owns UNI Design, a commercial and residential construction and remodeling company in Weld County since 1977. He has been involved with the Centennial Rotary, Aims Construction Education and Management Advisory Committees, School District 6 Advisory Committees, Greeley Chamber Current LGBC Committee Member and Board of Directors at  A Women’s Place, 1998-2003. Hout has attended Kent State University, the University of Northern Colorado and Aims. Hout wants to be a part of helping school districts create programs that some students otherwise wouldn’t be able to afford.

 Lyle Achziger

Term: 2015-2019

Lyle Achziger is continuing community service after nine years in public service as the Mayor of Evans, councilman in Evans, and as Chair of the North Front Range Metropolitan Planning Organization. He was raised on a farm in Ault. Following four years of military service in Vietnam, he returned home to attend Aims Community College to complete his associate degree in business administration. He is currently an active life member of VFW and Leadership Program of the Rockies. Achziger has supported Aims since 1971 as a student, faculty member and chair of an advisory council. He is a retired Weld County paramedic and volunteer firefighter. He currently works part time in fire truck and ambulance sales. He feels he can contribute to Aims continued success through fiscally responsible management and by exploring new ideas utilizing today's technology.  Achziger strongly supports education and believes that appropriate education of our youth is critical to a strong and sustainable economy.