Aims Students Recognized at the 20th Annual Academic Honors Ceremony

Aims Community College recognized the amazing academic achievements of 66 students at the 20th Annual Academic Honors Ceremony and two outstanding faculty on May 11, 2018.

Woman with Aardvark Mascot

Hosted by the Aims Alumni Connection, this yearly event celebrates the passion, dedication and hard work that Aims students and faculty put into their education and future.   

“Aims Community College would like to congratulate all of these remarkable students!” said Aims CEO and President Dr. Leah L. Bornstein. “Aims prides itself on building an atmosphere that many refer to as their family. We are proud of our current and graduating students and wish them well as they continue to achieve their dreams.”  

Four types of awards were recognized at the event:

Student Selected: Full-Time & Part-Time Faculty of the Year Awards – The Associated Students select faculty who they feel have gone above and beyond by embracing the Aims spirit through outstanding and creative classes. This year’s recipients are:  

  • Eric Hashberger of Evans, Full-Time Instructor, Math
  • Kevin Pollock of Loveland, Part-Time Instructor, Astronomy & Meteorology

Honor Medals: Students who have completed all coursework and achieved a cumulative GPA of 4.0 are awarded this prestigious medal. This year’s recipients are:

Sarah Adams of Greeley, Bridget Arnott of Fort Collins, Brittney Bearly of Wellington, Denise Bircher of Evans, Ryan Boone of Evans, Juan Briones of Evans, Lawrence Brown of Milliken, Carlene Brown of Greeley, Aryn Chasteen of Brighton, Ami Dyer of Ault, Stefanie Feazell of Greeley, Cody Gamet of Greeley, Jessica Glycenfer of Fort Collins, Conner Hindman of Longmont, Anna Hunt of Hudson, Holly Hunt of Hudson, Chloe Johnson of Greeley, Jared Jurk of Greeley, Dylann Leal of Johnstown, Michael Martinez of Firestone, William Mattise-Lorenzen of Berthoud, Christina Maurer of Platteville, Colin Monnes of Greeley, Casey Morales of Greeley, Barbara Moro of Aurora, Janae Mudge of Windsor, Alena Nelson of Greeley, Courtney Newman of Fort Collins, Tanya Perekrestenko of Greeley, Alexis Romero of Greeley, Skylar Ryan of Severance, Taylor Schmidt of Berthoud, Michael Strom of Champaign, IL., Brenna Sydow of Greeley, Astwin Tavizon Almeida of Johnstown, Miguel Trevino of Greeley, Anthony Vaughan of Loveland, Rachel Washam of Loveland, Malcolm Weaver of Greeley, Ian Whiston of Fort Lupton, Hayley Whitney of Milliken, Kyle Wickstrom of Eaton, Casandra Wojahn of Evans

Distinguished Scholar Award: Faculty nominate and select students who have a 3.5 cumulative GPA, and earned 30+ credits. This year’s recipients are:

Sarah Adams of Greeley, Brittney Bearly of Wellington, Katherine Cramer of Loveland, Noelia Espino of Lochbuie, Amber Franklin of Milliken, Matt Lester of Pierce, Clinton Lough of Greeley, Salvador Lozano of Evans, Caden Martin of Greeley, Michael Martinez of Firestone, Amber McFarland of Greeley, Sharolyn Nolde Lopez of Loveland, Cristin Riley of Loveland, Angel Rivera of Brighton, Lee Ann Sappington of Evans, Hayden Schmidt of Windsor, Hannah Sullivan of Loveland, Ian Whiston of Fort Lupton

Special Department Awards: Each department has the opportunity to select individuals who demonstrate remarkable qualities. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Accounting and Financial Women’s Alliance Outstanding Woman Accounting Student: Lee Ann Sappington of Evans
  • The Aims Review Literary and Arts Award: Dana Leverett of LaSalle | Annika Jendzel-Scott of Greeley
  • Frank Gordon/Walt Francis Social Science Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement in History or Political Science: Dylann Leal of Johnstown
  • Gordon E. Hadlow Outstanding Aviation Student Award: Tanya Durham of Aurora
  • Katherine Scoresby Routledge Award for Anthropology: Bobby McFarling of LaSalle
  • Outstanding Computer Information Systems Student: Rori "Eden" Mugg of Fort Collins
  • Outstanding General Chemistry Award: Colista West of LaSalle
  • Phi Theta Kappa All-Colorado Academic Team: Courtney Shook of Fort Collins, All-Colorado Academic Team, Workforce Pathway | Hannah Sullivan of Loveland, All-Colorado Academic Team, Transfer Pathway
  • Phyllis Gosch First-Year Experience Award: Adrienne Garcia of Greeley
  • Student Engagement, Inclusion, and Success Award: Hannah Sullivan of Loveland

Bornstein added, “For this year’s graduates, we congratulate them for their exemplary achievement of receiving an award as well as completing their degree or certification. As they step out into the next chapter of their journey, we welcome them to remain connected to the Aims family as our most recent Aims alumni. They are now proud members of the Aims Alumni Connection.”


Greeley Tribune